Woes of Motherhood

20120410-222009.jpg

It is a glorious thing being a mother. There are hopes and dreams that I thank God every day for fulfilling. Motherhood continues to change my life for the better all the time.

Yesterday we played games outside for a couple hours. Then while I zoned out for about two minutes, I looked over to find Aedan was in his dad’s stash of Twizzlers. Don’t ask, I can’t stand the things 😛

We discovered that much like both his aunts on each side of his family, he is allergic to Red 40. His little face is still recovering from the breakout, poor baby.

Then today.

Oh, geeze, this is taking too long to type up because I’m tearing up.

Should I tell you?

Okay.

He walked.

Okay, let’s be honest with you. It wasn’t like he did it on his own. He has this toy that he can push. It was a first regardless and he looked so darn grown up that I can hardly stand it.

I’ve read before how milestones can affect both sleeping habits and nursing habits. Last night, he just crawled up to me and laid down in my arms without nursing and fell asleep. Tonight we spent about 6 hours without a nursie though!

As a mom who is doing extended breastfeeding, this was uncomfortable to say the least and horrifying to be a little dramatic. We haven’t ever really gone past about 3.5-4 hours before.

He kept asking for water, then would act tired but still refuse to nurse.

Before anyone questions if suddenly tonight our 11.5 month nursing relationship crashed to the ground and has completely ended – no.

Tonight, after almost an hour of Aedan wanting to sleep and not being able to, he finally latched on and drifted to sleep in my arms.

With tears in my eyes though, I must confess that for the first time I’m comfortable saying my little guy was claiming his independence. My post is only long-winded because, well, this is really difficult to come to terms with. I am happy, don’t get me wrong, but I am very caught off guard.

How do you handle these moments? This kind of realization? Moms that know, where are you?!

This entry was posted in Family, Health, Home, Parenting, Personal Growth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Woes of Motherhood

  1. Victoria / Justice Pirate says:

    My Great-Grandmother nursed until her kids were 2, one of them was 7!!!! Really odd. . now THAT is extended nursing. hehe. I think nursing for a year is appropriate! I nursed Leto until he was 15 months old and Micah until he was 12 months old. I tend to be really happy when I see my boys growing more independently! It’s exciting. I just hope they’ll always be willing to cuddle with me. If they ever decide to stop hugging me, I don’t know what I’ll do!!!!!! They’re really loving!

    That’s terrible about the Red 40 allergy!!

    • Elizabeth says:

      I can’t imagine us stopping anytime soon, Aedan loves nursing time and we still do a lot of bonding during nursing time 🙂 I hope he is okay to quit by the time he is 3-4, but who knows??

Leave a Reply

