Facebook and Much Needed Vacations

I’m sure everyone has noticed the slump in blog posts in the last month.

Well, I have.

I’ve been dealing with a lot of overwhelm.  Between my sister having her son (and the few weeks leading up to it where we all walk on eggshells because today could be the day), putting a down payment on our house (it’s okay, you can dance about this too, I’ve been dancing for a the past week too), dealing with a growing 10-month old, and then my own emotions and anxiety, I’ve had just too much on my plate.

So I’ve decided to take a hiatus from Facebook.

You can pick your jaw off of the floor now.

It’s been 3 1/2 days now, and I’m proud to say that the most difficult part was that I couldn’t proclaim to the fbverse that my beautiful nephew, Aaron Decker, was born at 6:42 a.m. on Monday, March 5.  I couldn’t announce to the world of fbook that he was 20 inches long and 7 lbs. 13 oz. with a full head of hair.

I also couldn’t then spend tons of time talking about how my amazing sister Rachel did a great job and that it was such a beautiful, tear-jerking moment to be in the room as your baby sister gives life to her own baby.  I’m crying, but she probably won’t know since she is sleeping next to me.

Or that during her entire 14 hour labor (only about 6 hrs of full hard labor) I was dealing with my own envy and that ever present “baby fever” that never seems to go away.  God willing, I really don’t think I’m going to make it another year.

What I have instead of Facebook has been people I could text and call.  Also, I have this blog.  Which provides an outlet without a source of overwhelm.

So some thing that I’m doing during this vacation/hiatus?

  • Develop a routine for Aedan and I.  We have a schedule that I’ll post at a later time that we are using to help us get in a routine.  This includes time for walks, playing, and some work time for me.
  • Begin a daily blogging/work routine.  Each day, I’ll spend a period of 30-60 minutes to plan out my blog, write entries, and work on some aspects of my website/blog that I’m anxious to release.
  • Get out of my house (and everyone else’s house).  As the weather here is shifting (well right now, is 50 degrees while tomorrow it may be 30 degrees, who knows, is this winter?  spring?  fall?  I don’t know what you are doing right now weather, but I’d like some consistency!) we’ve been trying to get more time outside.  Aedan loves being let out in the grass to crawl around.  The fresh air is nice for all of us too.

So how could benefit from a Facebook vacation?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

