Garden

I’m learning about gardening this year, which has been quite the challenge. While my mom was busy teaching my sister about growing food and flowers, I was trying to figure out how to join Women’s Football League and how I’d never be a housewife.

So here I am at 23 taking care of my son as a stay at home mom. I’m married and working on moving into our first home and attempting to live simply and build a life that is sustainable.

20120206-222445.jpg

This is the plot I have to work with, thanks to my mom who is letting us garden with her. We also have some space at Andrew’s family’s plot.

In my great wisdom I went out on Saturday with a goal of tilling up the garden though… by hand.

It’s okay.

Take a deep breath.

I know it is hysterically funny.

I’m laughing now too, ha! After 45 minutes of digging up large amounts of dense mud, I finally called my mom to ask what the hell I was supposed to do with the dirt I dug up.

Much to my naive chagrin, she informed me I needed to crumble up the clods of dirt. My Lord, I seriously felt I was the biggest idiot in the universe. I did about 1/12th of the garden.

So what are you planting in your garden?

Have you started your seeds yet? When do you plan to?

How is your garden coming along?

Any tips for a total newb?

This entry was posted in Activism, Environment, Family, Food, Green, Groceries, Home, Recipe, Season, Simplicity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Garden

  1. Definitely plant tomatoes. I always plant things that taste better fresh and are hard to find.

Leave a Reply

