Day 7: Clutter Free Living – Part 3

I’ve been doing the 23 Day Frugal Living Challenge over at Frugally Sustainable but I’ve been stuck on Day 7 for three whole days! I have a feeling that is a reflection on my clutter-filled life, I’m sure.

For Part 3 (check out my first parts here and here) I wanted to address my clothes situation. I have a closet full of clothes that are too small and too big and too torn up and not comfortable and yet… they are still there.

So first things first – Project 333. I’ve heard about this for quite a long time now, it’s awesome how many friends I have (well mostly on the internet…) who have taken their turn with this project.

Closet– Start here and build momentum for uncluttering the rest of your home. Consider your closet to be anywhere you store clothes. Here is the process I recommend:

Start making piles of clothes and be ruthless.

  • Pile One: I love these items. They fit me well and I wear them frequently: Keep
  • Pile Two: I want to keep this but I don’t know why
  • Pile Three: These items don’t fit me or my style: donate.
  • Pile Four: These items aren’t in good condition: trash.

Next:

  • Take Pile Four to the trash.
  • Box up Pile Three and put in your car before you have time to re-think.
  • Put the items from Pile One back in your closet.
  • Box up all items from Pile Two and put the box in the back of your closet for 30 days.
  • If you didn’t miss the box after 30 days, DO NOT OPEN IT, donate it.

So basically it comes down to clothes I want and love, clothes that I just don’t know about, clothes to lend, and clothes to trash OR repurpose. Next, I need to work out a list of everything I choose (that I’ll post here, of course) which should look similar to the many lists you can find here.

This entry was posted in Family, Green, Home, Personal Growth, Possessions, Simplicity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 7: Clutter Free Living – Part 3

  1. “I want to keep this but I don’t know why.” That made me smile.
    I am guessing emotional factors are involved. Sometimes our clothing is symbolic of who we used to be, or who we wish we were.

Leave a Reply

