Day 2 – How to Develop The Frugal Living Habit

So today is Day 2 of the 23 Day Frugal Living Challenge at Frugally Sustainable

Meeting my minimum is actually something I’ve been working on for a while, luckily.  I went through the list provided and was actually pleasantly surprised by how many steps I’ve already taken.

We still have some stragglers, but most of our cleaning products including soaps and shampoos are either natural or homemade cleaners.  We use baking soda for toothpaste and ACV with the baking soda in place of shampoo, and I will tell you about this more another day, but it is totally worth it.

There are a lot of things that I would like to change still to be living as frugally and responsibly as possible.

  • Reduce water usage.  This is a hard one for me.  I enjoy my dishwasher and when I do take a shower I tend to like them steamy hot and quite a long time.

o    Water Conservation

o    Greywater Recycling

o    How do you reduce your water usage?

  • Stop buying shaving cream.  To be quite honest with all of you, I am not the biggest fan of shaving in general.  I just find it rather unnecessary and the hippie-feminist in me thinks it’s just a desire rooted in patriarchy and societal pressure for women to be perfect beings and someone somewhere along the lines of history decided that in our culture, shaving for smooth hairless skin was absolutely necessary.  So I go through phases where I don’t shave for sometimes months at a time, mostly in the winter and when I’m pregnant, and then other times when I shave quite a bit.  So now I’m really interested in this idea of making my own shaving cream.

o    Have any of you made your own shaving cream or lotion?

  • Buy in bulk.  I haven’t quite gotten this one down.  We use dried goods, but I’ve just never really gotten into bulk bins that often.  I’ll confess this is rooted in the fact that I still find myself chronically addicted to shopping at those giant multi-purpose stores that shall remain unnamed where they don’t sell things in bulk.  My goal is to start buying in bulk at local stores; in the long run it saves me money, challenges my creativity in the kitchen, and supports local businesses.   To be candid, this is the scariest and most difficult task to complete.
  • Turn down the thermostat.  I like to be snuggly.  I don’t mind the cold.  I just really, really like to be snuggly in the winter.  This is just a matter of snuggling up in clothes instead of turning up the thermostat!

o    Home Heating Tips

Oh, the most difficult part of typing this was walking over to my thermostat and bumping it down to 65 degrees.

I’m hoping that through the next 21 days, I will begin to experience how it feels to start grasping for the minimum that will give me something to go off of.

 

This entry was posted in Environment, Family, Groceries, Home, Money, Personal Growth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 2 – How to Develop The Frugal Living Habit

  1. I have always used my conditioner for shaving cream.

    • Elizabeth says:

      Up until about 4 months ago, I’d went all my 23 years without ever hearing that people did that and now it seems like I meet all sorts of people who swear by it!

      • Oh yeah, I almost forgot. My dad used to have an old school shaving set that had a cup and a brush that he whipped water and the ends of soap bars into a foam.

      • Elizabeth says:

        I always remember those kits my brother used to get growing up like that… well I’m sure your dad’s kit didn’t have any PIXAR/Disney characters on it… But I know Andrew is interested in that kind of kit and straight razors. You may have just unintentionally inspired a valentine’s day gift!

  2. mellietronx says:

    I use Dr.Bronners is place of….everything.

Leave a Reply

