Hi, My Name’s Liz and I’m a Hyper-apologetic.

Yeah, you read that right. Normally now I would apologize to you right now for the lame title, but today is no normal day. Today I am severing ties with a word I don’t think I’ve been using correctly for years and years.

20120102-101617.jpg

Growing up, my mom did a good thing by teaching us to say sorry and to mean it, by no fault of her own though, I took it to mean that sorry fixed things. It repaired broken situation, broken people, and so I began associating many situations with the phrase “I’m sorry.”

Also, I interjected wretched feelings into every type of situation. I forced many regrets and hard feelings down people throat when after I graduates high school I wrote a long apology letter for being so gloomy and basically obnoxiously hating everyone and everything in life. I will admit right here that yeah, at the time I thought I was incredibly mature for my age.

I just laughed at myself and I’m not sorry.

I’ve spent more time apologizing for things I’ve done, not done, and had no involvement in than probably any other actually productive thing at all. I am totally that person who forcibly tries to remove everyone else’s burden and carry it on my shoulders.

I’m the epitome of the girl with the weight of the world on her shoulders.

So this word is getting a revamp. It is no longer as obtuse as I had defined it in my head. It is limited for only events when I have done something wrong. No more apologizing just to make myself feel better.

I don’t want my sorry’s to lose anymore meaning than they already have.

Anyone else confess to being a hyper-apologetic? Do you apologize for every little and big thing known to man that isn’t your fault? Share below in the comments, or share a blog link about it.

This entry was posted in Health, Personal Growth, Positive Living and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hi, My Name’s Liz and I’m a Hyper-apologetic.

  1. I have the same issue. Let’s try to change this together 🙂

Leave a Reply

