Bread and Patience

20111223-214122.jpg

It took me four years to figure out how to cook a simple loaf of bread. Something about yeast, it makes bread so yummy and fluffy. Something about yeast, it confounded me! So two weeks ago my mother showed me the error of my ways. I was too afraid of using hot water and had never had the patience to wait for the bread to rise.

So silly, two things like fear and impatience kept me from succeeding! I’d mastered it, well, maybe not mastered… but surely I made great strides and the last four loaves were not only edible; they were delicious.

Feeling confident I bought two bags of flour to make bread for the holidays. Somehow in the confusion of my day though I managed to leave the flour somewhere.

So silly.

And yet…

My instinct was to panic. I ended up hanging up on my own mom.

Deep breathes.

If I can spend so much time making bread, I could handle this.

And after my awesome husband stepped up to go buy more I stood prepping my kitchen and dwelling on the whole seemingly silly thing.

We celebrate the birth of Jesus, but I forget about how important patience can be in the scheme of things, and not panicking.

The long wait for a Savior.
The fear Mary experienced waiting those long 9 months.
The way everyone watched in wonder as Jesus grew.
Jesus knowing what had to happen and still waiting.
The seemingly slow going resurrection.

And now we still wait, ever so patiently for His return. Patience really comes with the territory of being a follower of Jesus.

So breath in.
Breath out.
We have a lot to be thankful for.

This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Food, Holiday, Home, Personal Growth, Positive Living, Scripture and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bread and Patience

  1. I chose you as one of my favorite bloggers, i.e., recipient of the Versatile Blogger Award:
    http://dilapidatedfarmhouse.com/2011/12/24/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Happy Holidays!

  2. Kari Sue says:

    Thank you. That was an insightful post.

Leave a Reply

