In the Day of the Lord

I’ve been feeling good and I wanted to share it.

I notice that sometimes it is all too easy to just express myself when I am angry or sad or discontent with my life.  For the first time in a long while though, I’ve started to really feel satisfied.  Even the rough patches that I’ve experienced have seemed to fizzle out.  I am happy.

Ecclesiastes 7:14 ESV In the day of prosperity be joyful, and in the day of adversity consider: God has made the one as well as the other,so that man may not find out anything that will be after him.

It is so hard sometimes to understand why we have sadness.  I’ve recently been going through a lot of changes regarding what the author of Ecclesiastes 7:14 says.  Even as recent as about a month ago, I can accurately recall dismissing someone’s feelings about a sad subject.

Sometimes we want to just be happy, constantly and we get so wrapped up in it that we don’t process when we face adversity.  Why should we ignore our adversity though?  My most recent epiphany though has revealed to me the importance of recognizing when I experience anything less than wonderful.

I’ve been feeling good.  I’ve been feeling content and satisfied with my life.  None of those things rely solely on my being happy with every little thing happening around me though.  I’m content because I have understanding and I know what to expect in my life.

Some days I will find myself “in the day of prosperity” and other days I will find myself “in the day of adversity“, but all the time I am in the day of the Lord and that is what keeps me going through both.

This entry was posted in Emotions, Faith, Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In the Day of the Lord

  1. mellietronx says:

    Amen 🙂

Leave a Reply

