Fearing Change

Change is embarrassing to me.

I don’t know how other people so easily embrace change without feeling ashamed, guilty, and just downright uncomfortable.

Am I the only one?  I’m not sure, but I doubt it.

I’ll explain.

Being positive is not second nature to me though, and certainly I find it is not second nature for the people around me to experience me as a positive person.

The best way to avoid negativity is to embrace the positive.

My “negative” mind is so focused on the negative that it even considers all the negatives of becoming positive.  How will people respond to my embracing the positive?  Will they find it insincere?  Will I backslide and revert back to my negative self only to disappoint those around me?  Or to further confuse them?

This is why I feel embarrassed of change.

I am embarrassed because my change may not be 100% successful overnight.

This is based in fear.

I do not need to be afraid and neither do you.

We are a work in progress.  Without change, we are stagnant.  Fear can make us stagnant, or we can change the hold, the power it uses to bind us.

We can change.

What are some changes that make you feel uncomfortable?  Why?

This entry was posted in Personal Growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

